good algae eater for betta

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

shellyx

Aquarium Advice Addict
I have a betta in my 26litre, im having a problem with green algae. I,ve been scrubbing the glass & ornaments myself & my problem has come from the sun shining on my tank, I,ve been switching the tank light off early. I,ve added two blue ramshorns to my tank but well they haven't done much! Do you guys have any idea what I could use? I do have Nerites in my big tank could I put a couple in their for the moment?

I have Nerites in my big tank, how many could I put in with my betta? Once they,ve ate the algae I,ll be putting them back in my other tank. Bought two blue ramshorns for my betta hoping they would eat the algae but they haven't bothered. Thanks

I'm not experienced in the snail department I just no names . For inverts like shrimp I'm more knowledgable. I think I have to step down and let someone else take that one ;)

You could get a mystery snail. They eat algae and leftover food. I had one in my 5 gallon and I never had to scrub algae off the sides once. The amount of food I cleaned from the gravel also decreased. I didn't know that aquarium salt killed them, though, and that's how he died.

I had an apple snail in with him & he stopped it from eating! He's a bad betta lol

youngster said:
An oto would be perfect for your tank. It's a catfish aglae eater abour 1" long

I have otos, they do their best in schools of around 4 plus. They are quite hard to feed but I have managed to feed them algae wafer and bloodworms. Many people can't feed them on anything but alage .

youngster said:
An oto would be perfect for your tank. It's a catfish aglae eater abour 1" long

Worried he,ll kill it, that's why I thought Nerite. It's a shame as I really like otos. Thanks anyways