Guppy With Skin Hanging Off - HELP!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

callycal

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello,

I'm pretty new to keeping fish so apologies! I have a 60l tank which was not cycled (I took advice from a pet shop and only discovered about cycling later, I added fish a week after running the tank with bacteria and treatment!) but it has been going strong for a month now. I have 4 guppies in my tank and have been doing 10-25% water changes daily or every 2 days since day 2 of them being in the tank (which is when I discovered about cycling).

My male guppy had a chunk missing out of his tail when I bought him, I was told this was because he had been picked on by other males and was nothing to worry about. He (and ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1399417844.305053.jpgthe rest of the gang) moves around a lot, eats well and seems happy to my inexperienced eye, yet today I have notice what looks like a rip in his skin by his tail, as pictures although you might need to zoom in to see it!

I really need some advice on what to so as I'm panicking - I never thought I'd care so much about fish but I'm very worried, plus my 3 year old would be devastated if anything happened to Captain Hook as he is her favourite!!

Thanks in advance!

Just keep the water clean and stay on top of your changes so they don't get infected. Fins and scales will heal quickly (days) If you notice any fungus or raw flesh around the tail it may be rot/infected which may require some medication from the shop, but if he's eating and swimming about ok then there shouldn't be much to worry about.

Thanks for getting back to me. He actually died last night I found him this morning - devastated! Scarily one of my female guppies also died and I didn't even know she was unwell. I'm super fussy about keeping the tank clean so I just don't know where I'm going wrong!