has anybody ever shipped fish?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Elle2

Aquarium Advice Freak
Someone I know wants some of my sunburst platies (I know this seems a little strange... they are nice but I am sure they could get nice ones elsewhere)... but this would require them being shipped. I know you can order fish online from businesses, but I was wondering if anyone has ever shipped fish themselves?

I am not very experienced at shipping fish Elle, however I will give you what I know

1. Do not feed 48 hours before shipping.(less chance to dirty the water in the transport bag)
2 I would use regular LFS bags doubled up. 1/3 with water and the rest with air. Dont blow in bag, I know you know that!!
Tie one knot and put that end in the other bag so the knots are opposite.
You are suppose to make it as round as possible so fish dont freak and get caught in a corner.
3 Pack crumbled newspaper at the bottom of a small styrofoam box or whatever you are using for shipping. Place the bags in and pack the whole thing with newspaper good, As far as a coldpack because of summer heat, you will have to make the judgement as far as where and it is going and weather. Alot of people dont use them.

If they really want these fish that bad then they should pay for some kind of faster than regular shipping service to put your mind at ease.

Hopefully someone with more experience will help. I know one AA member that ships fish all the time. I will PM him and see what he says

Thanks! I am not sure that I will do it in the end.. they are just platies.. granted really really nice ones.. but still... then again I have so many since my tank is heavily planted and the fry are surviving at a very high rate (will sepearte the breeding pair as soon as I can get another set up).