Help with my Plecos!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

D.perry

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello, I am brand new to getting on forums regarding fish health but have used them to reference for advice and I need some! I have 2 approx. 10 year old plecos that were thriving and within the last few months seem to be something wrong.

They are the only 2 in the tank for years, it's a 30 gallon and they are your common pleco. They have a total loss of appetite and the only waste have been 2 skinny opaque strings. They have a decent diet of flakes, algae discs but mostly peas. I've tried zucchini a couple times but they're not as interested. It almost seems like they are starving. I've tested the water and nothing huge except high nitrate but on the low end. Ammonia is testing at 0.

What I've researched is stress, or poor diet or tank conditions which I don't think is any of these. Or possibly parasites. I'm going to do a gentle 25% water change and have to wait until tomorrow to go anywhere local for advice but is anyone else experienced this? Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Also the only thing different I've done recently maybe a couple months ago was add a live plant. They've always had a piece of drift wood in their tank. I'm so stumped, I'm not sure if one will make it through the night . I feel like I've missed something obvious and not sure what I can do or should be looking for.

How often are you doing water changes? I am sorry to hear that you're having problems with your Plecos.

What size are these fish? Common Plecos can get really large, heads the size of your hand, body the size of a fore arm...

What other fish are in the tank? 30 gallons is small for 2 10 year old common Plecos.