How do I cycle a 3 gallon tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Manic Fury

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hello!

I am very new to this hobby and have never cycled a tank before. I have done hours and hours of research on how to cycle a tank, but I don't know if it is the same process as cycling a 3 gallon tank. I don't even know if it's worth it for such a small tank. But even if it isn't, I can use this tank as practice for my bigger tank in the future!

I have a Fancy Fintail Goldfish named Pontus.

The tank I have him in currently is a 3 gallon tank with a 3i Tetra Whisper filter. I also have an airstone for bubbles. I will be moving him into a 30 gallon tank in the future but for now I want to keep his tank as clean and healthy as possible.

My question is how to do a fish-in cycle for a 3 gallon tank. Any help would be great!

Thanks!

It's the same way you cycle any size tank :)

Just put the fish in,and monitor parameters daily. Do water changes when ammonia and nitrite rises above .25.

I'd recommend moving the goldfish to the 30g tank sooner than later though, he'll need more room.

Hello! I am very new to this hobby and have never cycled a tank before. I have done hours and hours of research on how to cycle a tank, but I don't know if it is the same process as cycling a 3 gallon tank. I don't even know if it's worth it for such a small tank. But even if it isn't, I can use this tank as practice for my bigger tank in the future! I have a Fancy Fintail Goldfish named Pontus. The tank I have him in currently is a 3 gallon tank with a 3i Tetra Whisper filter. I also have an airstone for bubbles. I will be moving him into a 30 gallon tank in the future but for now I want to keep his tank as clean and healthy as possible. My question is how to do a fish-in cycle for a 3 gallon tank. Any help would be great! Thanks!