I didnt cycle my new tank :( help!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AmandaB

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I know I know.. I feel so stupid, I bought a 55 gallon freshwater tank for Christmas and didnt cycle it. I have tropical fish in it and 4 have died in the last week :( I changed my water today... 25% of it anyway and put conditioner in it but when I got home 2 more where dead.... I dont want the last 4 to die so plz help me what should I do? I know my ammonia Levels are to high.... I have 3 angelfish and one swordtail fish left, I bought a kit with the tank so I have the filters and a heater.....

I know.... not smart but I'm new to this, I have a 55 gallon freshwater tank and I have had 4 fish died in the last week :( I know my ammonia levels are to high, I took 25% water out added conditioner and water then went to work, when I got home 3 more where dead..... I dont know what to do I have 3 angelfish and 1 swordtail fish left. I have a good filter and a heater along with a air pump (my son likes the bubbles) lol what can I do to save the fish I have left? Plz plz plz help me my son is going to freak out if he sees another dead fish, he is only 4 and doesn't understand why I keep killing the fish lol plz help me so he will stop telling everyone I keep killing his fish lol

Get a test kit and do a 50% water change every time the ammonia gets higher then .25. It's a pain but only to keep your fish from ammonia poisoning

okay I'll go get one tomorrow thank you very much, When will the tank level its self out? How long should it take

my fish are all swimming at the top like they're gasping for air, what do I do about that is it because of the ammonia levels?

What were the fish that died? Angel fish are aggressive and could have killed the other ones... The cycling problem is bad but stocking may be another problem