I need ideas for 75 gal stock

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

razmataz1971

Aquarium Advice Regular
I'm a newbie on here and have to say, this site has alot of info, however, I still haven't quite found all my answers.

I bought and set up a 75 gal FW tank a week ago and it's been running now for only a few days with an Eheim 2215/2217 filter. It's planted (silk plants) with a 10 inch rock ornament with a few caves and a piece of driftwood. I tested the water with an AP test kit I bought. My water results are as follows:

pH: 7.6 Ammonia: .5 Nitrite(NO2): 0 Nitrate(NO3): 0

Am I fish ready?

I love very colorful fish. I've been visiting pet stores to get ideas, but I'm finding that alot of the fish I like, aren't compatible. For example, I wanted Cichlids with Gouramies. (Call me picky I guess.) I'm sure you all experience this as well.

I don't mind the "popular" fish that are found in most tanks, however, I'd like people that come over and say "WOW, what's that fish?" I don't have room to do 2 tanks. Any ideas???

[center:8c73975cb4] :smilecolros: Welcome to AA. razmataz1971!! :n00b: [/center:8c73975cb4]

I bought and set up a 75 gal FW tank a week ago and it's been running now for only a few days with an Eheim 2215/2217 filter.
What are you using as an ammonia source? The bacteria will not start growing until "fed." You need an ammonia test kit also. You will see a spike of ammonia, followed by a spike of nitrite and then the nitrates should start to rise. A cycled tank that is ready for fish will have ammonia and nitrites at undectable levels and nitrates no higher than 40ppm.
I wanted Cichlids with Gouramies.