Ich

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sake

Aquarium Advice FINatic
You're going to laugh at me!...Anyhow I went to the local petsmart and seen some black neon tetras. I fell in love with them right away, I got 3 of them they were just the prettiest colors and had these random white spots on them. So being a noob i took them home, drip acclimated them and released them into my tank. I was so excited!

Well over the next few days I watched them playing and having fun and i started to notice those little white spots...they were multiplying....something ain't right. :blink: Well a bit alarmed I decided i wouldn't panic, I waited a few more days and low and behold, my neon tetras started getting white spots....Oh joy it's a disease or something time to research!

Anyhow here i am slowly raising my tank temp to 86 degrees and hoping for the best.Now here is my questions the fish i have in the tank are...Black neon tetras (infected lil buggers lol) neon tetras, glolight tetras, zebra danio, glofish (same thing as zebras i know), loaches, cory cat, and ghost shrimp, will the shrimp survive the higher temps? Also i see alot of sites say to use salt to help should I salt? It's a planted tank also. I just don't want to cook any fish if I can avoid it. Also i will be doing 50% water changes every day till this is beaten. Oh and there seems to be some confusion on water temps, some say 82 degrees (27 degrees celsius) some say as high as 92 degrees (33 degrees celsius), but most say 86 degrees (30 degrees celsius). So salt, or no salt, and is 86 degrees warm enough or should i go a bit higher?

Last edited: