Is My Tank Overstocked?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

VulpuixScyther

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hey guys! I've been having a problem with my nitrates lately. They've gotten pretty high. Right now they're at 20 ppm. My ammonia and nitrites are at 0 ppm as well.

I have;
12 neon tetras,
5 long finned rosy barbs,
1 heart shaped blood parrot,
5 black skirt tetras,
7 platies,
5 yoyo loaches,
1 danio and 1 minnow.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Oh, my tank is a 60 gallon, I am using black diamond blasting sand for substrate, I have a mix of live and plastic/silk plants, and I have one 70 gal Fulval filter and another 70 gal Penguin filter.

I'm not too good at stocking levels but it looks fine for that volume.
As for the 20 ppm nitrates, that is fine if you can keep it from going higher. You can always try feeding less, increasing water changes, or a combo of both to bring it down.

Thanks Fresh2o
I might just be over feeding them.

i think youre tank is fine! You might be able to put some more in there really. Maybe more of the black skirt tetras to boost up that school, or of the dannios :) Nice looking tank also!

37 fish is pushing it In a 60 but I have 15 in a 60 which are way different besides the yoyos you have, but I'll bet that there is a lot of bio load going on and what most would say on here is keep up with water changes.

Sent from my SM-G360T1 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Be on you guard with the parrot. I have one with cichlids and he is getting meaner by the day. He's to the point now he chases a JD twice his size for her food.

Some do great in community tanks while others become an annoying nightmare.

Caleb