Is this HITH with my German Ram? Huge white growth on head and tail!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DanR

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi all,

One of the 4 GBRs in my daughter's tank is in very bad shape. It started 5 days ago and I thought he had Ich - it started with a white spot on his tail. I immediately increased aquarium tank temperature to 80 and started the treatment and removed the charcoal. It didn't clear up and got worse, with a little red pimple showing up on his head and the white on the tail getting bigger. Today is water change and it has now exploded in to a white mass on his head! :( :(

I have no experience with this, is this what is called hole in the head? I have no idea what I need to do. And to make matters worse, another Ram now has a white dot near the back of his dorsal fin.

I made a video here (sorry just getting over a cold):

Thanks in advance,
Dan

What are the numbers for the water test/parameters???

It seems more like Columnaris. But the pimple does sound like possible HITH starting but also possible there could be double trouble.

Does it seem like there are little black dots/pimples on the lower area or around the sides of the head of the bad one or one just starting to get it?

Kanamycin (treats internal infection) and Furan -2 External infection for the Columnaris.

What are the numbers for the water test/parameters???

It seems more like Columnaris. But the pimple does sound like possible HITH starting but also possible there could be double trouble.

Does it seem like there are little black dots/pimples on the lower area or around the sides of the head of the bad one or one just starting to get it?

Kanamycin (treats internal infection) and Furan -2 External infection for the Columnaris.