ISSUES!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jr5018

Aquarium Advice Regular
OK so i took a trip to the keys, got my LS. By the way this is not advisable people really get upset. I was stopped by the coast guard and searched. Apparently coral smuggling is some sort of lucrative career! I claimed stupidity and was allowed to float away. Now i have my DSB in my 55 gal aquarium and some LR as well as coral. What do i do now I think i am supposed to cycle the system. How do i do this?

I am assuming it is LR "porus rocks with stuff growing on it" and a very small portion of coral. I was just off trumbo naval base on the gulf side I think it was trumbo we pulled out of. Please remember I am extremely new to this and not as educated as i would like to be but i do have 1 question how do i cycle my tank at this point

you have coral in your tank and you dont even know how to cycle??? :roll:

I dont even know where to begin. Go buy the book "the conscientiuos marine aquarist" by bob fenner and read through the posts in the getting started forum. This information is in a million posts if you search for it.

Ok very nice article I will do this ASAP I am expecting my coral to die! please correct me if i am wrong. I do not mean to offend any of you on this board with my stupidity. I apologize.

Don't worry about it. Sometimes we get a little over-passionate when it comes to our hobby and forget we were clueless newbies once too. Patience is a virtue. :)

If the Rock was taken directly from the gulf and added to a tank that was laready full of SW, you may not experience that much die off from the rock. Which would lessen any cycle you may or may not get. How much rock did you pilfer?