Killifish question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nycfatcow

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hey guys,

Its my first time getting in to killifish and i just ordered a bunch of eggs and should be coming in next week.... I have a bunch of things set up for the egg hatching and raising process... i was reading online that java moss is good for newly hatched babies.... now i was wondering if you can substitute that for guppy grass? also any tips for a beginner?

I spawned them a number of years ago, and raised about 150. I hatched them in a margarine container and used a piece of rigid airline tubing to pipette them out of the container into a tank. As you are probably aware, not all the eggs will hatch on the first soaking, and you will have to re-dry the peat moss and let it sit for a month or more, before doing the hatch thing again. My preferance is for a bare tank, because it is easier to keep clean. Mine were large enough to eat BBS when they became free swimming. They grow very quickly if you feed them well and keep the water clean.

bill,

I have a plan in my mind that im going to set up shortly let me know if you think it'll work... Once i get the eggs im going to try to get them to spawn with water from one of my fish tanks... im going to set up this hatching tank in a small rectanglular shaped take out container....about 12inchsx6 inches,,,,

Onces the fry spawn i was going to move the fry to small circular take out containers and have around 5 of them each with a bit a java moss or guppy grass.... I am thinking about feeding them frozen brine shrimp...and flakes as they get bigger...