Lake Tanganyika Community

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

michael15

Aquarium Advice Regular
So I have been cycling another 21 gallon tank for about 2 months. In the time I've been watching a lot of videos on African cichlids but since my tank is only a 20 gallon I have had to limit my choices. I went towards the Lake Tanganyika cichlids because they all have a unique look. The probably is I don't know any small ones besides the Juilechromis, altolamprologus, Lamprologus shell dwellers, Telmatocrhomis, and a few of the Neolamprologus. I really don't want to go with the small shell dwellers that most people are familiar with Like the brevis, multifasciatus, and similis so if you all could help me out a little that would be great.

www.davesfish.com

Has some cool Lepidiolamprologus instock. A 20 gallon really limits you to Shellies unfortunately. Kylefreakgecko would be the best person to hit up about dwarf lake tang cichlids.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Hmm those on the the list are pretty nice but something about the altolamprologus and the Juilechromis stands out.

Only altolamprologus you are fitting in there is a pair of sumbu 20g is very small for lake tangs...I breed only lake tangs and my smallest breeding tank is 45g breeder and that has shellies in it

I keep a small colony of neolamprologus multifasciatus in a 20 long with a pair of Spathodus erythrodon 'burundi' and its a pain to keep up really. I often have territory disputes and I've had to add at least 20-25 lbs of holey/base rock to keep some peace in there. I can't wait to upgrade them to a much larger tank

I have slowly started to give up the most of the other of the other tangs. But I like the possibility of having N. Brevis (or ocellatus gold) and julidochromis transcriptus living together if that could work.