Looking for direction (want to get everything right)...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ScorpioMoon

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey everyone! I had a few tanks years ago, and I'm sure things have changed as far as new products and better technology. Also, since it's been so long, I consider myself a nearly total newbie.

Anyhow, I would like to get started again and am looking for recommendations on the best filters and overall equipment. I want two set-ups. One being a small 20 gallon tank for my bedroom and another 75 gallon tank for the living room.

I want both tanks to house live plants so looking for some guidance on the perfect substrate(s). In the small tank I'm thinking guppies, mollies and some golden snails.

In the 75 gal I'm thinking a couple of blue acara cichlids.

Can you get me started in the right direction as far as supplies, filters, lighting, additives and substrate(s)?

Thank you bunches!

I am a big fan of Aquaclear (AC) filters if you're looking for a HOB filter. This is what I would recommend for the 20g.

For the 75g, I would recommend a canister filter. Eheim is one of the best IMHO, but you can also get cheaper ones, like a Sunsun, aka Aquatop.

I have a 75g peacock cichlid tank and I did have a Sunsun in addition to an Eheim, but the Sunsun started leaking so I decided to get another Eheim to replace it. You don't have to get a canister filter though as they can be pretty pricey.

I have a 55g planted community tank and I'm running an AC 110 and an AC 75 on it, so a HOB filter would also work. If you couldn't already tell, I'm a big believer in over filtering.