Male Mollies sitting at the bottom of tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

H.P

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi,

I am not experienced in keeping fish. My 10 galon tank is one month old and I have 4 mollies (2 male and 2 female) and 2 female platies!

It is about two days that male mollies are sitting at the bottom of tank. They eat enough and mostly active during the day but at around 7 pm they go to the bottom of the tank and sit there. One male and one female are showing a strange behavior. They often try to swim vertically and seems they can not. It seems that their butt is heavy for them. They also do kind of shaking while swimming strangely.

Can any one please help me?

Thank you

I have some ideas but really their just a shot in the dark. Could you post your tank specs, water quality/paramaters, substrate filtration heating ect ect.
This can usually be the early sign of aeromonas or pseudomonas infection in fish. It can also be intestinal parasite/worms, or it could just be that they are scared from a vibration in the room or next to the tank. Or also scared from fighting other males. If they are swimming with their cadual (back) tail down that is also a sign of ick or mold, especially if they are clamped or shimmying (something you see at the pet store alot, mostly mold (fungus) and parasites like ick and velvet that makes them look like that at the store.

Unfortunately I o not have a test kit but other specs are:
10 galon tank with some natural plants and a Marina filter
temp: 79-82

I weekly change the water and use nutrafin Aqua plus and cycle as the treatment. How much of these treatments should I use and how often? May it be because of early tank syndrome?

How much water are you changing ?