Molly fish- White slime? D:

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Elocrocker

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi, I'm new to Aquariumadvice, but I've always followed some of these threads when trying to figure something out with our tank.
Our 55 gal tank has been established for around a year or more at this point. We have two black mollies, male and female, and a handful of guppies (they're hard to count).
Our female molly, we call her Mama, is 2-3 years old, and has reoccurring issues with white spots/patches on her body. They look slimy? Recently it got on her eye and looked like it might have been in or around her mouth a bit. The local pet store said it sounded like Ich, and so I've treated the tank with IchX. I did two nights of it while leaving the carbon filters out. She cleared up and I said cool, but. Sure enough, the spots came back, so I tried using Melafix instead, but I ran out of that, so I went back to the IchX the next day, buuut I ran out of that too. This is my first time using IchX, it's what the pet store recommended but I didn't buy a big enough bottle. I usually used Melafix any time we'd seen the spots come up before. What I've read online is that Ich is more granular? Tiny spots, vs this patchy slimy stuff. Maybe it's the same thing?

The IchX directions say to do a 1/3 water change before every dose, so we've done that, and treated the new water with Prime before putting it in the tank. I also used Stability in the tank after the second water change. I also removed the carbon filters for the time being. We use a MarineLand Bio-Wheel Penguin 350 filter. I think I need to change the bio-wheels. The packaging said they never needed to be changed, but the pet store said to change them every couple of months. I'm not sure what to do there?????