My new 125 gallon planted tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sammy99

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Here it goes

I got a 125 gallon tank with 2-3" of Eco complete base. Tank is 72*18*22.

My 48" lighting consists of
2 54 watt red wave t5
2 54 watt 12000k super day light t5
2 54 watt tropical wave t5
7 hours a day
1 cap if flourish when light come on everyday.
1 cap or excel once a week. ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1392409062.605586.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1392409085.159664.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1392409110.241248.jpg

My crypts are turning translucent. Not sure why. No root tabs used either. CO2 kit ordered and should be here in a week. Filters are penguin 400 bio wheel. I have 2.
Any suggestions to what I should be doing different?

I'm no expert but I use Excel and note that it breaks down naturally in about 24 hours. Therefore, if you are using excel as your only carbon source then it should be dosed daily and preferably in the morning. I dose daily and use pressurised Co2 to achieve approx 15 ppm by late afternoon. Co2 is turned off 2 hours before lights out.
I don't use any fertiliser at all and have 2 T8 tubes on for 13 hours a day. I have no algae problems. I rely on the fish waste to feed the plants - probably all wrong but this is the growth and colour that I have.
Hope that's of some interest and maybe of some help. S.
ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1392413093.740247.jpg

Your HOB's will off gas the co2. Too much water disturbance. Invest in canister filters.

+1 on above canister filters are great I would probably grab two in your case but this will allow you to run a inline diffuser or reactor( better IMHO) this way co2 diffusion is more efficient .

I have a 90 and I'm running a fluval g6 with external diffuser and a fluval 406. I thought the fx5 or 6 would be overkill