Need help with my 55g please

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

shutson06

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm new to this live plants in an aquarium thing. I've recently bought some plants and now some are turning colors and don't look as good. So I'm just going to start over.

Setup
55g tank
2 18" zoo Med f15t8/10 lights (Idk what watts bought everything from friend although very bright/white)
Approx 1-2 inches of substrate with sand
2 eheim ecco 2232 canisters

So my problem is I'm not sure what to get/quantity. I've looked at many websites and looked at packages for beginners but they all very so much, mainly with amount. So what would be a good setup for my 55g to be decently planted. I'm going to have schooling fish (cardinal tetras, cherry barbs & harlequin rasboras) with a centerpiece of a pair of gouramis.

With the lighting you described, you are going to have a difficult time growing any live plants in a 55 gal tank. 2 18" T8 is around 30W, and far from adequate end to end coverage on a 55.

ahh ok thanks I will get stronger lights. Would 2 80 watt light bulbs suffice?

That depends. What kind of 80W bulbs are we talking about?

I would recommend looking into a dual t5ho setup. That would grow plenty of low and medium light plants in a 55.

I would have to get new hoods right?

Are their any good lights for the hoods I have now?

No. The width of the current fixture you have is insufficient if you want to do well in keeping live plants. You would need a new fixture.

would this be a good kit?

Odyssea 48" 216W (4x 54W) T5 HO Light Fixture Extendable Series
1x 48" T5 Quad fixture
2x 54W T5 HO lamps 10000K
2x 54W T5 HO lamps Actinic Blue
4x Bluemoon LED

Seems like alot of bang for the buck. I'm sure i don't have to use all 4 bulbs at once...maybe 1 54W T5 HO lamps 10000K and 1 T5 HO lamps Actinic Blue?