New 46 gal tank - when to do first PWC

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Reechard

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Since this is my first post...hello all, I have found many useful tips on this forum already. I am new to aquariums, but not new to the wonderful water chemistry associated with it - I am a chemist by trade.

I began cycling my 46 gallon tank one week ago the "all natural" way with 3 black skirt tetras, 3 tiger barbs, and 3 columbian tetras. All is well so far, but I am wondering when to do my first PWC. The ammonia level has only inched above 0.25 ppm, and nothing further down the cycle has been detected yet. Is a PWC necessary at this point or should I just let it be?

Also, would BioSpira speed up my cycling time? There is activated carbon in my filter, I've heard that can be a problem sometimes. Thanks!

Welcome to AA!!!

The AC wont hurt anything, I feel it is not needed. You can change water if you like, the fish always like it, but you want to keep your ammonia under 1ppm. So when it starts getting near 1ppm do a water change.

BioSpira should just about instantly cyclee your water if it is a good batch.

I'll agree with everthing rich said.

Also stay away from gravel vacs and do not replace you current filter cartridge or the carbon until the cycle is complete....each provide surface area for bacteria growth.

BioSpira should help the cycle go faster, since you have some ammonia registering now. If you can get some, I'd go ahead and add it.

The carbon only causes problems when you are dosing medications. Its not really needed otherwise, but I'd leave it where it is until the cycle is fininshed.

Good luck!

I hope you are planning on increasing the schools when the cycle finisheds. I'd get atleast 3 more of each type.

JustOneMore20 said: