New 55 Gallon Stocking

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Karatepig

Aquarium Advice Activist
I have some aquarium experience, a small 20 gallon with peppered cories, small dwarf gourami, and a small sailfin pleco (yes, I'm aware of the potenial size, hint 55 gallon), a smart and knowledgable LFS, and a grandfather in the hobby for 15 years. 20 gallon has been established for around 3-4 months.

Onto the purpose of this thread.
I am getting a slightly used 55 gallon aquarium with a correctly sized filter and a hood/light for $40 (good deal right?). I have been doing research for months now, even planning tanks I may never build. Also I have the materials to fix a leak from a 10gallon I fixed for my grandfather :)

Ideas: Loaches, loaches, and loaches.
Love 'em. Clowns are too big, Yo-yos are awesome, kuhlis are like snakes. They're just amazing. So, two things.
Will Yo-Yos and Kuhli's do well together?
Tank mates besides my sailfin pleco? I like Opaline Gourami and tetras.
Oh, and no live plants for me. Nuh-uh. Nope.

I'm not sure about the loaches..but red flame gouramis could be a good choice...bleeding heart tetras?..maybe some tiger barbs if you wanna do a semi aggressive tank.. when I had my 60g as a tetra tank I had about 12 tiger barbs 8 bleeding hearts..3 silver dollars pleco about 6 Cory cats..7 or so misc. Tetras..and some danios..everyone got along perfect it was a good mix..Im probly missing a few but hey..it gives you an idea