New From UK, Nottingham

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sub-Zero

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey all,

Well, Completely new to marine tanks, I thought it was time to join up to a decent forum. Main goal, is to get ideas and thoughts from other more experienced members, I have done some intensive research for the past three weeks or so, however from what I have gathered, there are many ways to skin a cat so to speak.

From what information I have been reading and been told, this is the current configuration I have decided to go with. I know it might be not to everyone's taste however with cost and time issues at hand you are going to have to bare with me for the time being.

Slight background: I have been keeping fish for about 3 years (cichlids) prior to that it was a community tank, and then myself and father where keeping a koi pond with 9 fish only (Japanese lucky number or some thing like that :S ) So with that I have decided that Marine is the next logical step so to speak.

I have 3 options of marine setups:

FO
FOWLR
REEF

FO is by far the simplest options however the lack of dimensions and naturalism is lacking, the next is adding some live rock to the equation, which in my opinion is a bit more suitable. The next and most intense/interesting is a full on reef set-up.

Here is the list of items/equipment that I have decided on so far, this list is going to change by the time I have actually bought all the items but hey, I am in absolutely no hurry to get a system running.

Here are the tanks that take my fancy:

Juwell Rio 240
Juwell Lido 120
Aqua one 620T (130 litre)
Aqua one 900 (174 litre)

There were more tanks like Amazon and Betta that I did look at however with cost issues where ruled out. Not that I am being tight, well I am, but I'd rather spend £1000 over 6 months than spend £1000 in one go.