new tank ideas

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ndriscoll1322

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am new to the aquarium world. I currently have a 20 gal. high tank that is undergoing a cycle/ is under observation. If everything checks out I would like some ideas on what to put in it. I was thinking a pleco tank, but I heard they were very territorial. Maybe a semi aggressive tank? Help please!!

I am new to the aquarium world. I currently have a 20 gal. high tank that is undergoing a cycle/ is under observation. If everything checks out I would like some ideas on what to put in it. I was thinking a pleco tank, but I heard they were very territorial. Maybe a semi aggressive tank? Help please!!

I would stay away from plecos. I only know of one that might stay small enough for a 20 gallon and I have never been able to find it in a store.

How are you cycling your tank, if you don't mind me asking?

I'm not very good at helping to stock a tank without overstocking. I haven't learned all the right ways to do it. I can tell you some semi-aggressive fish I like and maybe that will help give you some ideas as to what you would want in your tank.

I like bettas, but for a 20 gallon, I would probably put him/her with a small group of cory cats. You might be able to have a small school of another small fish, but you would have to stay away from any that have a reputation of nipping fins. Bettas are easily made victims of fin nipping, which causes them a lot of stress, leading potentially to other issues with him/her.

Gouramis are another choice. As far as I know, they all can do fine in a 20 gallon, but I have only owned a dwarf gourami. If you wanted more than one, you would have to look into compatibility, because some species of gouramis will fight like two male bettas while others can be fine together.