New tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Gmiked

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all I'm new to AA. I am setting up a new tank for some Muties.
Please let me know what you think.
20 Long,
Acuaclear50 with an added sponge on intake
Sand substrait
21 torbo shells... more on the way
few rocks..
plants in for cycle onlym 1/2 way throught.. maybe 2 more weeks.

will order 8 Muties after cycle

Your input would be helpfull,
Mike

Attachments

• Copy of multis cichlid tank.jpg
    Copy of multis cichlid tank.jpg
    40.5 KB · Views: 60
looks like a good start... im going to have to upgrade my tank or get rid of some of my multies, they're reproducing like crazy... they've had 30+ fry since i got them a little over a month ago!

looks like a good start... im going to have to upgrade my tank or get rid of some of my multies, they're reproducing like crazy... they've had 30+ fry since i got them a little over a month ago!

Sounds like my kribs..haha

To the OP. Welcome to AA and thats a great looking tank. Your multi's will love it. Maybe more shells but thats coming from someone who is not as versed as mfd with multis.

Can you comment on how you are cycling the tank?

Be careful with the light level during the cycle. You have very few plants and I'm assuming you are supplying an ammonia source (based on your cycling comment). Typically we recommend performing the cycle with lights out, temp up, and good aeration. I'd think about removing the plants for now, growing them in a separate container and going with the lights out to prevent algae issues (green water).

Goodluck and welcome to AA!

thanks all.. >And yes i have more shell on oder should me here in a few days.
>lights are for the photo only off rest of time.. plants areto add bio... and give me some thingto look at.. hehe while i wait.