Newbie! 60g tropical

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Razzle

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello everyone. I am new to pretty much everything and i'm here seeking advice because i've been getting lost just reading everywhere.

As for me ive had a 40g tank growing up in my parents house and after reading much of the information on the basics here i wonder how those fish even survived to be honest. we did so many things wrong.. or not at all. I'm glad though that i know this information now.

That aside i'm excited to say that i bought a 60g aquarium a few days ago due to a sale i just couldn't pass up. ive been wanting to get back into it but i was waiting for a good deal on a tank to show up and one finally did. Got the Marineland Heartland ensemble for $133 and i really like the way it looks. I also purchased a fluval aquaclear 70 for it since that was deeply discounted as well.

So what i currently have is
60g tank/standard florescent lighting/stand
Aquaclear 70
Eheim Jager TruTemp 250W
python system

and thats pretty much where im stuck, mostly due to indecision. I'd like to run a tropical tank. and live plants are something completely new to me so i don't know how i feel about those. also i was considering a canister filter but those are new to me as well and i've read somewhere that my stand doesn't have room inside the cabinets for one. (even though they have the cutout for the tubes) also i don't know how much sound canister filters give off. i'd like to keep it as quiet as i can because it will be in the living room.

As far as the fish and decor go im open to suggestion. like i said id like tropical, and im leaning towards a sand substrate (pool sand perhaps) this tank is pretty tall (12.75"L x 48.5"W x 25" H ) so maybe a top middle and bottom type. My wife and kids would like colors also.

thanks for the time and advice :)