Newbie - conflicting info out there

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

scteel

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am new to the hobby and although I’ve done a lot of research, I think the best thing is to ask those who are actually in the hobby, as the children they hire at Petco are useless and misinformed. I started with one male Betta in a 10 gallon tank. The water has completed its cycle and has been established for 9 months. I have SLOWLY added 2 Bumblebee Gobies (very tiny) and 3 tiny Panda Cories. I would not add any more, correct? I may have made a mistake already. But, am I over stocked? I do a 25% water change each week and have 3 large plants, 3 small pieces of cholla wood, and 3 morimo moss balls in there as well. The substrate is sand and this week’s (and in general) water parameters were:

Ammonia – 0
Nitrite – 0
Nitrate – 10
Ph – 7.0
[FONT=&quot]Gh[/FONT] – 40
[FONT=&quot]Kh[/FONT] – 100

[FONT=&quot]I add a tablespoon of aquarium salt when I do a water change, along with conditioner and a touch of stress zyme (I’m paranoid about losing too much good bacteria). I change the carbon filter every 8 weeks. [/FONT]

I’ve read Cories have to be in groups of 3-4, then 6-8 and also do fine by themselves. Their temperature should be much lower than the betta and also warmer is just fine. My head is spinning!

All of the fish seem healthy – great appetites, active, playful – the betta even built a 3 inch wide by 1 inch high bubble nest – yay.

Thoughts? Suggestions? Tips?

Remember, I’m still learning!

Thanks!!