The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Linlin

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi I’m a fish newbie lol bought myself a 25 litre tank set it up and went to buy some fish, I won’t name the store but being a newbie I was looking for advice instead I got told you can only have those (danios) they are fun to watch I have 4 but I was hoping for a variety and possibly one that uses all my tank ?, any advice on what I can put in with my 4 new friends will be much appreciated

Welcome to the community.

A 25 litre tank isnt really big enough danios. 40 litres would be the minimum i would say danios can successfully live in and 60 litres would be better.

The only fish i would recommend to live in a 25 litre tank would be a single betta, along with a small snail if you wanted to look at something different in there too. A betta would need a heater. You would probably be able to get away with 3 guppies at a push.

If you really want to keep a small group of social fish like the danios, then i would get a 40 to 60 litre tank and look at keeping 6 to 8 fish together so they are living in a comfortable group. If you are looking at keeping a "community tank" and want a bit of variety to look at, and different species interacting, 60 to 100 litre are good sized tanks to look at.

As you are a new fishkeeper a couple of questions.

What do you understand about the nitrogen cycle?

Do you know how to cycle a tank? If so could you let us know what you did/ are doing. Fish stores are notorious for not giving good information on cycling tanks.