Planted 125G Mbuna Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

travis simonson

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hi guys! I'm new here and thought I would say hello :) I was just pointed to this forum recently and have been poking around trying to find out where things are. I am very impressed with everything I've found. This is an excellent, well-run site.

I've been keeping African cichlids for several years now and have recently gotten into planted aquaria without getting out of Africans. They make an interesting combination for stubborn people like me - at least I've always got something to do in my aquarium. It's like trying to clean-up after a house-full of hyperactive third-graders who've had too much sugar :?

Here are a few pics of my 125G planted mbuna tank:

tank_171204_x800.jpg

Right_Side_201204_x800.jpg

Center_Tank_201204_x800.jpg

Left_Flow_120504_x800.jpg

Grazing_151204_x800.jpg

I keep strictly Malawian mbuna: Labeotropheus fuelleborni, Labidochromis caeruleus 'Lion's Cove', Pseudotropheus demasoni 'Pombo Rocks', and Pseudotropheus sp. Elongatus 'Usisya' F0 Wild-caught. I've got unknown numbers of L. caeruleus and Ps. demasoni fry all over the place right now that are doing great in the community environment, likely due to the large amount of plant cover. I've got a few SAEs and Florida Flag Fish for algae control but the L. fuelleborni are doing such a good job of it that I may be moving them out soon. I've also got one very reclusive L-66 King Tiger Pleco that only comes out when the moonlights are on. Inverts are made up of Malaysian Trumpet Snails, Olive Nerite Snails, and a few Ramshorn Snails that are mainly snacks for my L. caeruleus :)