Platy fry surprise. Help?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Zissou

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm very new at this. Been keeping fish for about 2 weeks now. We've got babies!

We were out all day yesterday but last night when I was changing water I noticed a tiny fish dart across the tank! I spotted at least two last night and one this morning before work.

I picked up a breeder net today and am hoping the fry have survived. I plan to net them and get them into the breeder net when I get home in a few hours.

Any tips on netting them. Also what should I feed them? Any other advice would be greatly appreciated. I selected all female platies and didn't anticipate babies but one must have already been carrying fry when I got her.

I've been testing my water parameters and ammonia and nitrite have been at zero. Ph is about 8.2. Temp is 78. Should I adjust temp for the fry at all? Didn't want to mess with the ph if I can avoid it.

Any special treatment needed for the mother? She seemed fine this morning. Hung at the bottom of the tank most of last night but I think she had very recently birthed.

Thanks!

What other fish do you have besides Platys? At first I was like you, worried that they would get eaten. But I have found with most other fish and the adult Platys that if you feed them well they are lazy and don't bother the fry. Let me know what other fish you have and then I'll give you more opinions. ;)

Three adult platies. I just netted one baby and got it into the breeder net gently. Can't find any other babies at the moment.

I feed daily but small amounts trying not to overfeed. The big platies had been chasing the fry and acting like they'd eat if they could.