Pool Filter sand for rams?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gkuzel

Aquarium Advice Freak
So I just wanted some opinions on attempting to change over from small to mid size gravel to Something like pool filter sand? I know not to change it all at once, I'm not a total noob. I just heard it'd make for happier fish... Anyone have any clue the easy way to do it? Or if it's even worth it at all.

I only use and recommend Estes' Ultra Reef (will not alter pH/KH). It is cleaner and safer than other types of sand. It also comes in multiple colors. I use either solid black or black and white mixed.

Vacuum the gravel out really well two days in a row. After the second time (before you refill the tank) scoop out all the gravel. Pour in the sand, make sure it settles, then refill and turn your filters back on. You can do it all at one time.

Makes sense, but I guess I'm not understanding how to do this with fish in my tank, currently. I've never done an overhaul like this. I also have a fully planted tank. The way I was planning on doing it, is maybe removing half of the gravel substrate, and adding sand on top? or do you think it'll just make a mess?

Do it all at once. The fish can stay in the tank. Before you pull out the gravel pull out the plants. When the sand is in you can put the plants back in.

Do like a 50 % WC? And the sand just needs to be rinsed? Do you really think it's worth it? Like is it just an aesthetic purpose? I'm sorry very curious. haha.

Vacuum out the gravel really well one day, and again the next. The % water change isn't important, just clean the gravel.

Sand is much more natural. Effectively all of the fish we keep in the hobby are from waters that have sand (or finer) as a substrate, not gravel.