Pregnant Dwarf Platy

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hsherman1986

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I did not find the information I was looking for anywhere else, so i decided to post.

About a week ago I noticed my female dwarf platy was very fat, and assumed she was pregnant. About five days ago, I noticed the gravid spot, which confirmed my assumption.

My main question is, how long until she pops? Over the past few days, the one gravid spot on each side has turned into two spots on one side, and three on the other. I have a breeding box ready for her to save the fry (i have some major pigs in my tank that will eat the fry), but do not want to put her in it too soon.

This is my first attempt at breeding, so I am not really expecting any of the fry to survive, I just wanna try my hand at it and see how many I can successfully raise.

Any advice in this would be greatly appreciated. TIA

Breeding box? You can take any container you like (plastic box, fishtank,...), as long as you have at least a small sponge filter, and preferably a heater inside, and the container is thoroughly cleaned and was never in contact with any chemicals.

How long until she pops....hard to tell, but the gravid spots you are seeing may be the eyes of the fry inside. If so she should be due anywhere from now to a week later. Try doing a 30% water change, that may stimulate your female to give birth. Do you have any plants? I have a bunch of plants and my female guppies (livebearers as well) always swim between the plants to give birth (you know, so they feel safer, and the fry can hide out in there at first).

I would avoid the breeding box at all costs. They very often will send an expectant female fish into a death panic. The safest thing you can for the mother is to let her give birth in the tank. Hopefully a few of the fry will survive.