Pump size, Protien skimmer, Setup questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jeraljay

Aquarium Advice Regular
I am sorry guys I am a noob, I appreciate anyone who takes the time to read and reply to this. I have been wanting a salt water tank for some time know, I was a pool man for 4 1/2 years so I have some idea of chemistry and understand the importance of being proactive regarding regular maintenance and prevention. Well I found a tank on ebay that is cheap and I liked the cabinet, and its 10 miles away. Here is the link:

http://cgi.ebay.com/80-GALLON-GLASS...ryZ20755QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

I have been reading the articles in the help section and they are very helpful. Here is wha I understand so far;

you do not want en excessive amount of ammonia in your tank(it is harmful),

Ammonia levels should be at 0.00 as well as nitrate levels, but you need ammonia to produce ammonia killing bacteria.

A sump is best if it is as large as your tank and is a good tool to balance your water, replace water, and in balancing chemistry(due to the fact you are balancing a larger body of water which is inherently more stable).

syphon line and return lines should have equal flow so you reach equilibrium as far as water levels are concerned.

Fish should be allowed to aclimate to water temp and a quarentined sample of the water itself before being introduced for 3-4 hours.

Protien skimmers are the best way to remove fish waste

Wet dry systems are the best

Thats it so far, I have only been reading for an hour or so. Are my assumptions correct?

If you dont want to read the crap above here are my real questions

1) I havent seen anything on what type/size/brand pump and filtration system I shouls use

2)Should I use check valves and ball valves in my plumbing construction?