Questions about setup and stocking?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dwane

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello,

I am a newbie here and just bought my first aquarium yesterday. I did some research before my purchase and hope that I got something pretty good.
Fluval Vicenza 180 Bowfront Aquarium System. 180L/48 Gal tank. Fluval 205 external canister filter. 2 x 22" 24W GLO T5 HO bulbs.

Am I right in thinking that 180 litres is 48 Gallons? I am in Canada.

I printed out the The-almost-Complete-Guide-and-FAQ-to-Fishless-Cycling/Page1.html and read it twice through at work last night and will soon be setting up my tank and starting the fishless cycle.

Now I would first like to look to you more experienced members for some advice.
I would like to get some colorful fish and also like the look of fish that swim in shoals so please give me some suggestions on fish that wouldn't be too hard for a beginner to keep in this tank, I don't want anything aggressive.

What type of substrate do you think I should get? I was thinking something in a dark color like black or black and grey. I don't really know if sand or gravel is better. I was thinking of maybe planting a few live plants if that isn't too difficult or expensive so I guess that may make a difference.

I appreciate any input you can give me.

Thanks

Hi Dwane and welcome.

Congrats on your new tank. A 48 gal is a good size, you'll have a lot of options.

Great for doing the fishless cycle! I've done one and many members have as well; if you need advice along the way just ask.