Quick question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dkpate

Aquarium Advice Addict
Ok, so here's the deal, today was the first time I used the "Python" to fill up the 75G. I put the Prime in first and then put the hose in the tank to fill it. As I was filling it, my BGK would NOT stay away from the new water being put in! He loves to play in the current and bubbles so I think he thought that this was yet another toy for him. My question is, can he get sick from the chlorinated water coming out of the hose? Thanks lol!

I'm no expert on the python system, but I do know several people who add dechlor and tap water straight into the tank without pre-mixing the two without problems. Seems common practise by many. Also, I think that while chlorine is known to harm nitrifying bacteria and I don't think it harms your fish. I stand corrected on that should someone jumps in and advises otherwise.

I'm no expert on the python system, but I do know several people who add dechlor and tap water straight into the tank without pre-mixing the two without problems. Seems common practise by many. Also, I think that while chlorine is known to harm nitrifying bacteria and I don't think it harms your fish. I stand corrected on that should someone jumps in and advises otherwise.

I used to work at a LFS for 2 years, and when I did tank changes, I would drain the tank 25%, then add a squirt of Dechlor, then add tap water (chlorinated). At home, however, I drain the tank 25%, fill a container with water, dechlor it, then pour/siphon it in. Chlorine not only damages your biological filter, but I think it can burn/damage gills. However, I can't really say that my practices at the LFS affected the fish too much, since the water was really turbulent from powerheads on top of under-gravel filters, so any chlorine gassed off pretty quickly.