RCS Question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gmeredith56880

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi my name is George and I am relatively new to the aquarium business. I received a 10g as gift from my wife and ever since the obsession has taken off. I currently have 2 10g and 1 55g tank. I am interested in all things fish and my son loves looking at them and feeding them (he is almost 2). Thank you in advance for any help I receive! I decided to join this forum because almost every time I google a question it links to this site in some way. So anyways, heres my question:

I have a 55 gallon tank, I am getting some RCS today (should be in the mail in a few hours!!!!). I just recently added some java fern and wisteria and have had java moss in the tank for a week or so (not long enough to really grow). I have 5 scissortail rasboras (and a bamboo shrimp + 1 zebra nerite snail) in the tank (about 1.5 inches long) and they stay at the top of the tank most of the time. Do you think they will bother the RCS if I release them into the 55g tank? (they will be babies) (there is a cave type thing and a skull for hiding).

Unless you have it heavily planted, and lots and lots of hides. They will be a very expensive and tasty snack. If it fits in the mouth, it will be eaten. I only have Celestial Pearls in mine. They are really REALLY tiny, half the size of your pinky nail tiny.

So I just ended up moving all the fish from the 10g to the 55 and putting the RCS in the 10g by themselves. I thought they would be babies but there all different ages and one is full of yellow eggs! Thanks everyone for warning me about the fish eating them!