Reducing water flow for Betta?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Crlomancer

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm an aquarium newbie - about 80% of what I know is learned in the last month, monthly from this forum. I inherited an 8g BioCube and my daughter loves Betta fish. So we have a very basic setup (I'll try to post a pic tomorrow) with some gravel, a java fern, and Metta the Betta (named by my daughter).

Here's my problem - if it is one - the pump in the BioCube puts out 106 GPH and the Betta really doesn't seem to like the flow. I've read that they prefer more stagnant water, but I need to keep the water flowing to keep it clean. What can I do? I saw somewhere a guide on reducing flow, but it turns out that's from a filter - totally different thing. Any tips or advice on either how to divert or reduce the flow so both the tank and fish can be happy would be appreciated!

Thanks

Is there an intake (i.e. a place where the water is sucked in)? If so, you can put a filter intake sponge over it to baffle the flow.
Otherwise, raising the water level could help as well.
Hope your betta is doing well- what a cute name! :)

Is there an intake (i.e. a place where the water is sucked in)? If so, you can put a filter intake sponge over it to baffle the flow.
Otherwise, raising the water level could help as well.
Hope your betta is doing well- what a cute name! :)
Thanks for the quick response! It's a three chamber filtration setup, ending with a submerged pump pushing the water back into the tank. I'm not sure how I'd reduce the flow to it, other than blocking the top or bottom inlets leading to the first chamber.

The tank has a gauge on the side and it's near the max fill (more and the water inside the tank would spill over the top of the back, bypassing one or two of the filter chambers.

Is something like a ball valve a possibility?