reef lighting

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

phantomsk8er5

Aquarium Advice Regular
I would like to put some sps corals, shroom corals, and maby a anemones in my tank but im not sure if I have the right lighting for that. Right now I have a twin tube strip light on my 55 g. Im thinking of getting a triple tube strip light. Would that be the right lights to be able to get those corals?

umm is it just regualr no fluroescent. i am pretty sureif it is you wont be able to keep sps, or an anenome, i dunno about shrooms cuz i am still a newbie too. after a lot of reading tho i think you need pc,vho or mh lighting. i am not sure so dont quote me on n e thing, its just my 2 cents. hopefully someone with more experience will chime in and help i out. lol

If you want to keep sps, you will need at the MINIMUM 2 175W MH. You may be able to get enough with PC or VHO but you'll have to stuff your (new custom made) hood with them. You sould not attempt to keep any corals other than very low light types like mushrooms and zooanthids with the lighting you have, even if you double it.
I don't want to discourage you, I want you to succeed. Spend the big $$ and get MH, you won't regret it.
By the way, I retrofit my DIY hood with 2 175W MH for around $200 a few years ago. I can be done cheap if you're handy.

There is a user "CoolTouchLighting" on ebay that sells retro kits cheap.. As well as Darin from Captivereefs.com has good hoods as well.. I say build yourself a hood out of wood and get a retro It will be cheaper..

HTH,
James