Reef octopus skimmer

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sicklid-collector

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi I recently bort a XP-2000 cone reef octopus skimmer and was wondering if it's any good as I'm new to this it sais it's the worlds first skimmer use only pump is that a good thing or a bad thing??

Sicklid-collector said:
Hi I recently bort a XP-2000 cone reef octopus skimmer and was wondering if it's any good as I'm new to this it sais it's the worlds first skimmer use only pump is that a good thing or a bad thing??

Reef Octopus is a great brand. Should be a great first skimmer.

That's what I own for my 150. It pulls at least 1/2 a cup a day. I'm very satisfied with that skimmer.
I previously owned a ETSS skimmer and I think the cone performs better. Plus it uses less electric then the ETSS.

jose7878 said:
That's what I own for my 150. It pulls at least 1/2 a cup a day. I'm very satisfied with that skimmer.
I previously owned a ETSS skimmer and I think the cone performs better. Plus it uses less electric then the ETSS.

That's made me feel better! I didn't know if it was a gd one or not, is it simple to run I can take it out the box now then lol, what equipment do I need to get a marine tank started from beginning I got a few things but need a checklist or sumfink I'm trying to do as much research before I fill the tank wana make sure I got all the equipment ready so far I got =

600litre tank including sump
4 ft aqua one lighting
Reef octopus skimmer
5 stage RO unit
Phosphate reactor
Return pump
Heater
Sand
Salt
120kg live rock (still in shop being cured)
2 reef rods
Tester kits

Thanks very much mate ;-)