refugium, sump, or QT?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Erty

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
ok guys, i'm new to the whole hobby and i've been actively reading as much as i can about just about everything. i just got my saltwater tank a few months ago its been cycled and i have 4 fish. currently inside my tank i have the following...

55 gallon tank
60-80 pounds of live rock.
1 heater
1 korelia 2 for water cirulation
1 korelia 1 for a little bit more
a 450 fluval canister filter
1 Eibli angelfish
1 clown tang
1 diamond goby
1 hifin banded goby
3 emerald crabs
5 blue legged hermit crabs
2 turbo snails
1 bumble bee snail

i've come to the conclusion i pretty much need a sump refugium and QT tank but i can't figure out which is most important. [moderator edit] i'm not even 100% certain i need the sump. i'm also considering getting a protein skimmer because i don't have one atm. i want to eventually work my way up to a reef tank.

my question is, in your experiences which should i be looking for first?
A) sump
B) Refugium
C) QT Tank
D) Protein Skimmer
E) screw all those, you need a ______

thanks in advance for the help!

Last edited by a moderator:
Ahh, You def need a protein skimmer with that load.
How big is your tank? Im guessing 150g at least with a clown tang in there? If so, You'll need more flow.
In order i'd get first..

WAIT TO GET MORE FISH.

Protein skimmer
QT Tank
Sump/Refugium

Take the tang back to your LFS. Grab a QT as it is more important if you plan to add more fish. You can add an HOB skimmer if you really want one, but if you keep up on the weekly water changes religiously, you should be fine. If you go for a sump, make your own that way you can stick the fuge IN the actual sump setup itself. For option "E" go grab yourself a 220g tank and use that 55 as the sump/fuge. :D