Setting up a 40g FW community tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

captaincritical

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hello all,

I hope this is the proper place to post this. If not, please let me know!

I'm going to be setting up a 40g community tank and as I'm new to the hobby, I have quite a few questions. I've done a good deal of research about the nitrogen cycle, fish compatibility, etc., but I know it's always helpful to get a few opinions from knowledgeable people!

Question the first: I'd like to do a fishless cycle supplemented with either SeaChem Stability or Tetra SafeStart to speed things along. I know that I'll likely have to add ammonia (or some other source of it) in order to keep the bacterial colonies going strong until I get my fish, but I have a question about mixing conditioners and bacterial additives. I've been looking at SeaChem Prime as a water conditioner and noticed that it claims to render ammonia non-toxic. If I use this to condition my water and then add Stability, will the Prime nullify the ammonia needed to feed the introduced bacteria? I'm admittedly a little confused! I don't want one product to cancel out the other.

Question the second: I'm pretty sure I've decided on getting a small group of dwarf cories, a few red cherry shrimp, and 3 or 4 male platies. As per AqAdvisor, this leaves me the filtration capacity and space for another small schooling fish of some kind. I've considered neon tetras, cherry barbs, or small, non-agressive rasboras. Are there any clear favourites? Right now I'm partial to microrasbora kubotais but I'm doubtful that I'll be able to find them locally. I'm looking to keep things peaceful.

Thank you very much! I'm really excited to get things rolling. :flowers: