stocking 55gal angelfish tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

courtney1291

Aquarium Advice Newbie
This is my first time with a tank larger than 30 gallons and I really want a tank with a lot of color and movement. I wanted to try discus, but I don't know if I'm brave enough for that yet, haha.

I think I have decided I want to try angelfish and low aggression cichlids. I have a new 55gal and this is a list I have come up with. I tend to really like bottom dwelling fish and it's hard for me to choose, so I tried to pick a few things I haven't tried before other than the plecos.

Does this list seem doable? Can I add more fish? What do you recommend? I'm planning on doing black sand substrate, some driftwood and lightly planting with several floating plants.

top-
5 mollies

mid-
2 angel fish
5 blue ram cichlids

bottom-
2 red whiptail catfish
2 kuhli loaches
1 bristlenose pleco

Thank you for any and all help. I really appreciate it. :)

This is my first time with a tank larger than 30 gallons and I really want a tank with a lot of color and movement. I wanted to try discus, but I don't know if I'm brave enough for that yet, haha.

I think I have decided I want to try angelfish and low aggression cichlids. I have a new 55gal and this is a list I have come up with. I tend to really like bottom dwelling fish and it's hard for me to choose, so I tried to pick a few things I haven't tried before other than the plecos.

Does this list seem doable? Can I add more fish? What do you recommend? I'm planning on doing black sand substrate, some driftwood and lightly planting with several floating plants.

top-

5 mollies

mid-

2 angel fish

5 blue ram cichlids

bottom-

2 red whiptail catfish

2 kuhli loaches

1 bristlenose pleco

Thank you for any and all help. I really appreciate it. :)