Stocking ideas for a newbie 40 gallon breeder aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gikas1

Aquarium Advice Newbie
While im not a newbie in fishkeeping Ive never before got such a large aquarium(already planted and cycled) and so I dont know many things when it comes to the stocking options I may have... Ive already searched online for stocking ideas but I didnt see any mention of the species I definetly want to have in: Red platies. So if you have any recommendations on what other fish I can keep with them(same size or larger) or the amount of each species I could keep it would be great.

Many thanks for any recommendations!

With the platy fish I would do a betta sorority. I have my girls with platys. I know people say they are more difficult but mine is easy. I would do 7-8 females. How many platys do you have? Is the tank live planted?

I am assuming it is live planted just double checking but also does it have a good amount of hiding places? Betta's are really good in my opinion. They are gorgeous, come in a wide array of colors, and have the worlds most unique and amazing personalities.