Stocking questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jamers80

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all! Hopefully I’m posting this in the right area, I am new to aquariums and need help with stocking suggestions. I have a 38 gallon bowfeont aquarium with Marineland penguin 200 filter and a disk air bubbler also included is a heater set to 79 f. I currently have 2 Dalmatian Mollies and am seeking advice in adding more fish. I would like to add neon tetras but not sure of the amount I could add. Also any other stocking suggestions of compatible fish would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for the help. I’ve attached a picture as well of current setup. The water is now clear and cycled as well.

Attachments

• E713FEE9-F986-476A-B61E-EB281A3512CF.jpg
    E713FEE9-F986-476A-B61E-EB281A3512CF.jpg
    216.9 KB · Views: 36
Well, you could go with maybe 16~ or so neon tetras, maybe get a couple more Molly's so they have a small group, then I would get 6-8 corydora catfish as bottom dwellers and maybe a gourami or 2 as a centerpiece, or instead of gouramis a pair of German Blue Rams, really pretty fish IMO.

Thank you so much for the advice!! Also, it’s a new tank. I’ve added the 2 Dalmatian Mollies today actually. When would be acceptable to begin adding additional tank mates?

Welcome to the hobby! First things first, did you cycle your new aquarium?

As to stocking (if the aquarium was cycled) I'd see what all fish you like in the stores and then researching before trying to put more fish in, it can save you headaches in the long run by avoiding fish that won't get along, get too big, need different setups etc *before* it's a problem.

It can also save you from getting fish someone recommends online and finding out you aren't really a fan of them once you get them home (happened to me lol).