Suggestions to quiet down the tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ginja

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Just got into the hobby, so I'm a newbie.

Got a 125 gallon in my living room with a tank, pump, and skimmer down below. Now it sounds like I have a dishwasher in my living room. :/

Any suggestions out there for how to quiet it down??

Most of the noise is in either the pump or the skimmer. It's a motor noise, not so much a water noise.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated!

:(

Please excuse the 2 color combo tank and hood. Hood is a work in progress! :)

Attachments

• image-2304625174.jpg
    image-2304625174.jpg
    137.4 KB · Views: 151
Determine first where the noise is coming from by turning them off one at a time. Mostly return pump would make noise if its suction base is not mounted properly. A good set up is by using a flexible pipe for the return to DT or just a portion of it to dump the noise that may be transmitted from the PVC pipe to your tank cabinet. Air pump would also make noise if not isolated properly from other stuff.

Thanks for the suggestions everyone. Both pumps have thin rubber already under them to cut down on the vibration noise. I did put some filter material under both of them and it did help. The pumps were very recently cleaned out from moving them from one house to another so I know it's not from debris in the pumps. I've attached a picture of what the underside looks like in the tank if you have any other suggestions. I think if I were to put some pieces of wood on the back of the stand it would help trap the noise as well.

Attachments

• image-181038146.jpg
    image-181038146.jpg
    126.5 KB · Views: 139
  • image-2808115704.jpg
    image-2808115704.jpg
    119.6 KB · Views: 129
  • image-2110156357.jpg
    image-2110156357.jpg
    126.9 KB · Views: 102