Sump?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nxb161

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I have a roughly 35G tank that is cycled with a couple fish in it, I fit a 10G tank in the stand (it was so close, but I had to take off the cheap plastic trim to make my clearance.) I know 10G isn't a lot, but I figure it is better than not having one? I've never done a sump before, and I tried to use the search to find some good links on how-to best set it up, and to make sure I don't drain the tank during a power outage, that sort of thing. Any tips would be great, and advise it its even worth doing a 10G sump. Let me know, thanks!

I used a 10g for a sump for many, many years. It's nice to stick your heater, skimmer and/or filter media down there out of sight. You need a HOB overflow. I see your from PA. Check out an Eshopps overflow from That Fish Place. That will get the water from the tank to the sump. Then you need a pump to get it back into the tank. A Mag 350 would work fine.

Instead of trying to explain how you can setup the sump. I'll post a pic of mine. Even tho it's a 55g tank, it's the same basic setup you can use on a 10g. Water from the tank enters on far right. I keep my skimmer in that compartment. Next are baffles. They will make sure the water level in the right side always stays the same (skimmers need a constant water level) and keeps any microbubbles from making their way to the return pump. I have macro algae and a small section for frags and then the section on the far left for the return pump.

sump_2-08.jpg

ato3_5-09.jpg

You couldn't ask for a better answer than Capt gave.

Check out www.melevsreef.com. There's some good design ideas on the site.

Attachments

• refugium.jpg
    refugium.jpg
    46.3 KB · Views: 116
Thank you for the info! About the overflow box I'm a little confused. It says the following is included:
Siphon tube