sustainable planted tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Evaunitone

Aquarium Advice Activist
So I have a planted tank and it doesn't look very good. It'd my first planted tank so I'm still learning. I have an algae problem and it seems like my filters get super filthy quickly. I have to clean algae off the glass every week and all the leaves on my anubias are covered in a variety of different algaes. I keep my lights on for 4 hours, then off for 4 hours, then on for 4 hours during the day, and off all night. I have 1.95wpg with my HO lights. My plants include the hideous anubias, dwarf hair grass, tiger lotus, and two fairly small blyxa. I had a bunch of anacharis but it was growing like crazy and looked awful so I removed it today. I have all the ferts I need but I don't ever dose the tank because I feed my plants with root tabs and the tank isn't very densely planted yet.

I am planning to upgrade to a 30 or 40 gallon tank, but I'm a little leary about it if I'm doomed to have to deal with algae all the time. I have DIY CO2 and a pressurized CO2 setup really isn't in my budget. Am I destined to failure? Is it possible to have a really nice looking planted tank that doesn't have to be torn down and redone after a year? Any help would be great.

How often and how much do you do on water changes? What wattage are the bulbs, k rating, and how old are they? Sounds to me like there is a nutrient imbalance somewhere causing the algae. I've found that placing anubias and java fern in an area with alot of flow help keep algae at bay. i had the same problem as you when i first set up my planted tanks. I dont even dose any ferts now, my nitrates stay somewhere between 0 and 5, and i do weekly 50% pwc's... I also run my lights on the same schedule as you