SW noob on a budget....

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

willowthepoet

Aquarium Advice Activist
I am a completely noob to saltwater. I've never had a SW tank, and frankly I don't even know where to start. I've had FW for a couple years now, but I just aquired a new tank and want to do something a little more challenging.

I have a 20 gallon tank and a new aquaclear 30 (rated for 10-30 gallons), but the filter can be returned/exchanged.

I'd planned on discus because I was supposed to get a 46 gal tank from a friend who was moving, but the tank was broken in the move so now I just have the 20 gal from my boyfriend whose fish I returned to the LFS because he didn't take care of them... and then I took his tank. haha.

Since I'd had a discus budget of about $250 and can no longer have discus in this small of a tank, I thought I'd try SW if at all possible.

Enough rambling... what do I need?

I'd like seahorses, but I understand they're extremely difficult to keep... so what kinds of fish can I have in that size tank? Is it possible to get any kind of starfish?

What substrates are best? Is live rock absolutely necessary? Can I use FW decorations? What kinds of decorations can I use?

(Sorry if these are common-sense questions, I just want to be sure and not mess anything up)

I also know there's a lot of talk about buying saltwater. Is it really that hard to make your own? If I do decide to make my own saltwater, can I use tap water (well water) or should I buy distilled at the grocery store?

Anything else I should know? Any good places to start my information search?