Tank brands?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Patty1980

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I want a new one. Bigger one. At least a 20 gallon. Aqueon, Fluval, Top Fin......what do you guys like best? Does it matter?

Sent from my EVO using Aquarium Advice mobile app

I bought used but it's an "All-Glass". Seems well made. The light is stock, apparently, but it's far superior to the crap they put on kits these days and the stand is actual wood. No cheesy plastic hood either -- glass tops and quality reflectors.

Just really look over what you're getting. Most often, kits aren't worth any apparent savings because you end up upgrading the components.

Yeah, I want to do piece by piece too. I thought about used, but I'm still learning and repairs/modifications and knowing enough about what I'm looking at, etc. I figure paying a little more for the warranty is good? So, brand names don't carry any weight on your choosing one tank over another?

On the tank itself I would say no. Pretty much you are buying a glass box with silicone on the sides to hold it all together, kind of hard to mess that up imo. Now the components part is another story. So things like filters and heaters you want to pay close attention to the brand but as for the actual tank whatever you get should be fine.

On a side note, not sure where you live, but in the northern part of Texas Petco is having their $1 per gallon tank sale at the end of March. Might be something to look into if you want to get a large tank. :)

If you're going piecemeal over a kit (which I agree is better) then Petco's $1 per gallon sale is really the way to go. The only exception to this would be if you want a tank larger than 55 gallons or a bowfront tank. The tanks they have on sale are always the standard rectangle shapes and they rarely carry 75+ gallon tanks.