They are expiring one by one help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

i3k

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I have a 30 gallon freshwater tank that I have been running for more then 2 months now. I've only had 2 tetras in it from the beginning until the tank "settled". Well everything was great for these two months. I checked it for ammonia and there was a slight trace of it, so I did a 40% water change and the ammonia went away. I decided to purchase more fish about a week ago. I had a gift certificate for petco.com and noticed the started shipping live stock. I decided to give them a try. I ordered 2 kissing gouramis, 1 redtail shark, 4 more serpea tetras, 2 rainbow's, and 3 green tiger barbs. Well the first day I introduced them to the 30 gal. tank everything seemed fine. They were swimming around exploring and right away I fed them a little bit and they attacked the food. They just seemed very happy in their new environment. The next morning I found 1 of the rainbows dead with no signs of any kind of injury or disease. Right away I tested the water for ammonia and found that I had an ammonia spike. Keep in mind that prior to adding new fish there was no ammonia. Well right away I did a 35% water change and added some ammolock. The rest of the fish seemed healthy, swimming around exploring, no signs of stress. The next morning they were all good and healthy looking. Later that day when I got home from work I noticed the second rainbow stock to the filter intake and noticed it had some fluffy cloud looking mucus around its entire rear(bacterial infection?) I transferred it to a 5 gal bucket I had and it didn't make it, died few hours later. Again I tested the water and to my surprise the ammonia level was even higher then it was before I did the 35% water change. I didn't do a water change right away and waited until the next morning. The next m