what gal tank for first tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

snipes287

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
hey, well im new to this whole fish thing...never raised a fish in my life but I think it is now time....so...what size tank do all of you recomend? the biggest I can hold is a standard 75 gal. I would like the tank to be planted enventually...or imediatly...I really don't know. so, I was wondering if someone could help me out as to what tank, filter, heater and all of that stuff.

Well in my opinion it would be better to have a bigger tank to start with. You have more space for fish and easier to take care of. But it depends on how much you re willing to spend. It would also be able to start a planted tank as it will help the quality of your water. Hope this helps and if you have anymore questions just post and il try and help you out.

I recommend for the first time fish keeper to get the largest tank that they can find in a pre packaged set up, that they have room for. Usually a 55 gallon. You can find these set up's everywhere. Including Wal-Mart!
Buying a pre packaged set up insures that you have all of the necessities to begin with (ie. heater, filter etc.). These are usually on the lower end of the quality scale, but if you find that fish are for you, then you can always upgrade those components later. And if you find that fish keeping is not a hobby for you, then you are not out a lot of money.
I recommend the largest that you can get away wit because too many people start with a 10 gallon and either find that the fish that they have purchased either get to big and you have to buy another tank for them, leading to MTS. Or they find that smaller tanks are harder to maintain and get frustrated to the point of throwing in the hobby.