When to do a water change

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kitekat87

Aquarium Advice Freak
I have a fairly heavily planted tank and it's my first ever properly planted tank so I'm very new to this. I've not done a water change in two weeks because of ich treatment and I've just tested my nitrates which comes out at 5-10 ppm.

My question is should I do a water change despite the nitrates being low or should I leave it a little longer? I don't want to starve my plants of nitrogen by doing a water change but at the same time it feels strange not doing one for so long.

I do dose ferts and liquid carbon each day

Hello Kit...

You're the water keeper. It's up to you to decide how much to change and how often. I remove and replace most of the water every week. This keeps the dissolved fish waste out of the tank and replaces minerals the fish and plants need for good health.

Look at your tank this way: If you lived in a closed cube of water and lived in the same water where you went to the bathroom, how often and how much would you want me to change?

B

I know things are different in the UK but most ich meds say to change water when re dosing.. Also water changes to remove the ichs that fall off and then multiply possibly by the thousands...
I change water as often as possible . Like BB think new water is the most under rated thing aquarium keepers have to use..
I think most who dose ferts do 50% every week to reset tank parameters..
I am sure if I did not change water like I do I would not have the breeding success I enjoy.. It is a hobby of 'not keeping water' if you want to keep your fish IMO !

Water change coming up. I normally do 50% weekly but with not much experience with plants I wasn't sure if removing the nitrates would harm the plants.